Skip to main content

Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Nominees for 4th Annual LA MUSA Awards

By January 29, 2016Articles, Press Releases

La Musa Awards set for October 13th at the Filmore Miami Beach Jackie Gleason Theater

Miami, Fla. (January 29, 2016) – At a press conference held on Thursday, January 28th, at the Cubaocho Museum & Performing Art Center in Miami, the 24 songwriters and composers nominated for the 4th induction to the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) were announced. The 6 final elected nominees will be inducted into the LSHOF at the LA MUSA AWARDS to be held on October13th at the Filmore Miami Beach Jackie Gleason Theater.

Among the notables that were present during the press conference to announce the nominees included Latin Grammy winner and founder of the band Orisha Youtuel, Spanish singer, songwriter, and actress Beatriz Luengo, three time Grammy award winner, singer, songwriter, and producer (brother of actor, songwriter, producer Ruben Blades) Robert Blades, the new exponent of romantic and new Jazz Swing music, Louis Amanti, Colombian Singer/composer Alicastro, and Cuban Bolero singer Cachita Lopez, Desmond Child (CEO of LSHOF), and Rudy Perez, (President of LSHOF).

The voting period started last night, January 28 immediately after the press conference, and will close March 15 at midnight. The final Latin Songwriter Hall Of Fame inductees will be announced during the 2016 Billboard Latin Music Conference in April. The public is welcome to vote for their favorite composers by becoming members of the Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame, free of charge, by visiting:


Alejandro Lerner – Argentina
Caetano Veloso – Brasil
Juanes – Colombia
Shakira – Colombia
Chucho Valdes – Cuba
Joaquin Sabina – España
Jose Mara Cano – España
Marco Antonio Solis – México
Los Temerarios – México
Ruben Blades – Panamá
Draco Rosa – Puerto Rico
Vico C – Puerto Rico


Claudia Brant – Argentina
Chico Novarro – Argentina
Erasmo Carlos – Brasil
Kike Santander – Colombia
Jorge Luis Piloto – Cuba
Alejandro Jaen – España
Jose Enrique (Chelique) Sarabia – Venezuela
Carlos Lara – México
Miguel Luna – México
Cheo Zorrilla – República Dominicana
Luis Fernando Ochoa – USA
K.C Porter – USA

About Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame:

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization founded in 2012 by renowned songwriter/producers Desmond Child and Rudy Pérez whose mission is to educate, honor and celebrate the lives and music of the world’s greatest Latin Songwriters and composers and inspire new generations of music creators through master classes, workshops, scholarships and digital initiatives. leo.