Skip to main content

Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Inductees

By May 2, 2014August 7th, 2014Articles, Press Releases

LSHOF Inductee LSHOF Inductee
Pérez Botija
LSHOF Inductee LSHOF Inductee
De La Colina

Miami Beach, Florida. (April 28, 2014) – Musical giants Omar Alfanno, Rafel Pérez Botija, Lolita De La Colina, & Gloria Estefan will become the latest Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame inductees at the 2nd annual star-studded LA MUSA AWARDS which will be held on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Miami Beach. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“These 2014 Inductees have been changing the course of Latin music for decades…it is time the world takes a deep low bow to them.” said LSHOF Chairman/CEO, Desmond Child. LSHOF Co-Founder and President, Rudy Pérez adds “They are responsible for writing the soundtrack of our lives. I can’t wait to celebrate their contributions at our next LA MUSA AWARDS induction gala.”

Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame 2014 Inductees:

Omar Alfanno (Panama) is a singer-songwriter who’s biggest hits have been in the Salsa and Merengue genres. He has composed for recording artists such as Tony Vega, Luis Enrique, Melina Leon, Jerry Rivera, Victor Manuelle, Gilberto Santa Rosa, and Marc Anthony. His most successful song, “A Puro Dolor” performed by Son by Four, reached the Billboard Hot 100. The song was awarded a Lo Nuestro Award, the Billboard Music Award, and a Latin Grammy nomination in 2000.

Rafael Pérez Botija (Spain) is one of the most versatile songwriters in Latin music who’s songs have helped to launch and sustain the careers of recording artists including José José, Dulce, Lucero, Roció Durcal and Juan Gabriel including classics such as “La Gata Bajo La Lluvia”, “Payaso”, “Desesperado”, and “No Sirvo Para Estar Sin Ti”.

Lolita De La Colina (Mexico) is a popular singer-songwriter that began her career in the early 1970’s. She has written songs for Manoella Torres, Lupita D’Alessio, Sophy, Jose Jose, Jose Luis Rodriguez, El Puma, Raphael, Moncho, Manolo Muñoz, Vikki Carr, Ana Gabriel, Maria Dolores Pradera, Olga Guillot, Emmanuel, Pedro Fernandez, Lucero, Roberto Blades, Pepe Aguilar, La Lupe, Marco Antonio Muñiz. For decades her timeless songs continue being performed and recorded by many young recording artists today.

Gloria Estefan is a Cuban-born American singer-songwriter, actress, entrepreneur and humanitarian. Her unforgettable songs have changed the course of popular music, selling over 100 million albums, and igniting the “Latin Music Explosion” blazing the trail for Latin artists such as Shakira, Ricky Martin, Enrique Iglesias, Jennifer Lopez, Jon Secada and Marc Anthony. Some of her greatest hits are “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You”, “Anything For You”, “Oye Mi Canto”, “Con Los Años Que Me Quedan” “Reach” and her epic “Coming Out Of The Dark”. Gloria Estefan has won seven Grammy awards and is heralded by Billboard Magazine as one of the most successful Latin crossover artists in music history.

About the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame

Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame was founded by legendary songwriters Desmond Child & Rudy Perez under the auspices of the Songwriters Hall Of Fame in 2012. Our mission is to educate, preserve, honor and celebrate the legacy of the greatest Latin songwriters from all over the world and their music in every genre while developing and inspiring new generations of music creators through workshops, showcases, scholarships and digital initiatives.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.