Skip to main content

Ivy Queen & Willie Colón Among 2019 Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Honorees: Exclusive

By May 14, 2019Articles, Front Page

Original: BILLBOARD by Jessica Roiz

The Class of 2019 will be officially inducted into the Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame at the 7th annual La Musa Awards.

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF), founded by Desmond Child and Rudy Pérez, has revealed which five songwriters will be inducted at the prestigious hall this year, honoring the world’s greatest Latin music creators and their memorable songs.

Joining last year’s honorees, which included Gloria Trevi and Chucho Valdés, to name a few, are Ivy Queen, Willie Colón, Michael Sullivan, Chico Novarro, and Armando Larrinaga, Billboard can exclusively reveal today (May 14). This year’s group of inductees, which were selected by the general public from a previously announced list of 24 nominated songwriters and composers, is comprised of some of the greatest performers, lyricists, and musicians in Latin music today.

“We are absolutely delighted to be able to welcome this outstanding Class of 2019 Inductees into the ranks of the world’s greatest songwriters and composers of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame,” Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman/CEO, Rudy Pérez and President, Delia Orjuela said in a statement. “Their invaluable contributions to the world, prove the vital importance of diverse expression and the immeasurable and unifying power of music. These esteemed music creators make us proud, and we are thrilled to recognize their life’s work and long-standing commitment to excellence with this honor.”

To be eligible for induction into the LSHOF, the songwriter, composer or lyricist must have had their first published work released at least 20 years prior to the year of induction. All inductees are presented with the silver LA MUSA trophy statuette. Honorees are presented with bronze Musas created by world-renowned sculptor Alan LeQuire.

The 2019 honorees will be officially inducted at the seventh annual La Musa Awards ceremony and gala, taking place October 24 at the James L. Knight Center in Miami.